Skip to main content

New York Times Online: NYTimes

Sign up for your free access to the New York Times online! Take a look for some of our favorite features, tips, & tricks.

NYTimes Group Pass Devices

New York Times promo banner

As an Alverno patron you have full access to the New York Times online!

Click here to get set up or click the image above if you already created an account.

Why create an account? The New York Times is one of the world's most respected and trusted newspapers. With a free NYTimes account, there's NO monthly article limit and you get FREE access to all NYT content, including their archives. Plus, you can access your account from anywhere! Poke around on this guide for tips on making the most of your account.

Our Favorite Features

Current Events & Breaking News

Get up to the minute 24/7 coverage of current events and breaking news stories. From the NYTimes homepage you can toggle to the International edition, the Chinese edition, the Spanish edition, and a reimaged version of today's paper. You have easy access to all 25 sections of the paper, as well as special sections - like their coverage of the 2016 election

NYTimes also provides regularly updated lists of its most emailed and most viewed content, as well as articles that are recommended for you based on those you've viewed previously. And the best part? They make it super easy to share content through email or social media.

We love the Times Machine (aka the New York Times digital archive)! You have unlimited access to issues from 1851-1922 and 1981-current day. Access to 1923-1980 content is limited to a certain number of issues per day.

To access the Times Machine:

Once you're in the archives you can keyword search using the magnifying glass in the upper right corner or browse by date using the search box at the bottom.

Times Topics are a great way to browse for content on a specific topic. Each page synthesizes all NTimes content, including multimedia content, on a topic dating back to 1981. 

How to find Times Topics:

From here you can click into a suggested topic based on current events or browse alphabetically, by person, subject, place, or organization.

We love a good blog and the New York Times has plenty of them to keep us busy. They maintain a number of blogs on News & Politics, Technology, Culture & Media, Health, Family & Education, Style, Travel & Leisure, Magazines, and Opinion.

To find their blogs:

  • Log into your account
  • Click the "Sections" button in the upper left corner
  • Hover over "More" at the bottom of the pop out menu
  • Click "Blogs"

From here, browse through their directory to find one that interests you.

Strapped for time? Don't worry, staying up to date is easy when you set up an alert!

Alerts

From here, you can set up alerts based on specific keywords or phrases, or you can set up alerts based on general topics. You can also limit your focus to a specific section. When stories are posted to NYTimes, you will receive an email with a link to the relevant content. You can set up your alerts to come on a daily or weekly basis.

Strapped for time? Don't worry, staying up to date is easy with a New York Times Newsletter!

Newsletters

From here, subscribe to any newsletter that catches your interest. The frequency varies and topics include:

  • Special Features (TV, Science, Race, Running, etc.) 
  • News, Politics & Interest (Todays Headlines, Breaking News, Morning Brief, Opinion, etc.)
  • Business & Tech (Bits, Your Money, Personal Tech, etc.)
  • Lifestyle (NYT Magazine, Cooking, Books, Education, Sports, etc.)
  • PERFECT FOR STUDENTS: The Edit - news organized by academic major, popular articles on social media, advice from the experts, and more!

Based on the content you view, the New York Times provides a list of articles it thinks you would be interested in.

How to find your recommendations:

The more you content you view, the more likely it will predict something you're interested in!

Looking for audio visual materials? Make your way to the Multimedia page to view pictures of the day, a podcast directory, and featured multimedia pieces.

How to get there:

Loading

New York Times in Education

As part of our access to the New York Times online, you also get access to the New York Times in Education. New content and teaching resources are added to this site by Faculty Contributors on a weekly basis. The "Co-Curricular Activities" and "General Instructional Strategies" sections make it easy and convenient to bring real-life examples and context to the classroom.

This site requires a separate 1-time registration that is different from your NYTimes Online registration. Simply go to www.nytimes.com/edu and click "Register" in the upper right corner to get started. Use your alverno.edu email address and get signed up!

Follow your favorite sections

New York Times FBLOGO TWLOGO   IG logo Education Life Blog   TWLOGO National   TWLOGO Science FBLOGO TWLOGO
Arts   TWLOGO Fashion FBLOGO TWLOGO NYT Magazine   TWLOGO Technology   TWLOGO
At War Blog   TWLOGO Health   TWLOGO Opinion FBLOGO TWLOGO Upshot FBLOGO TWLOGO
Business   TWLOGO Learning Network Blog FBLOGO TWLOGO Opinionator Blog   TWLOGO Well Blog FBLOGO TWLOGO
Dot Earth Blog   TWLOGO Lens Photo Blog FBLOGO TWLOGO Politics FBLOGO TWLOGO World   TWLOGO

You can follow your favorite journalists too! Do a quick Google search to find their accounts.

How to Access Your Group Pass

New York Times logoGrab a Pass icon

You must be on campus to set up your account. After that you can access it anywhere!

Already set up an account? Click here.

The library also holds the previous 2 months of paper copies. Stop in to check them out.

Mobile Access

The New York Times has free apps for a number of their features. You can download them on Apple, Android, Windows, BlackBerry and Kindle Fire devices.

New York Times T Logo To see what apps are available, check here.

Other Newspapers

As an Alverno patron, you also have access to a number of other newspapers.

Access newspapers in our databases:

Access 2 months of the following print issues in the library:

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the reference desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.