Skip to main content

Open Access Theses & Dissertations: Home

Although the Alverno library doesn't have access to the ProQuest database Dissertations and Theses Full Text there are a number of national and international dissertations freely available online.

Open Access Theses & Dissertations

Ebsco Open Disserations
Open Dissertations is a collaboration between Ebsco and BiblioLabs.
https://biblioboard.com/opendissertations/

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). NDLTD is the biggest consortium worldwide for online dissertations.
http://www.ndltd.org/

EThOS
EThOS (e-theses online service) is the UK's national thesis service which aims to maximize the visibility and availability of the UK's doctoral research theses.
http://ethos.bl.uk/Home.do

Theses Canada
Theses Canada is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and nearly 70 universities accredited by Universities Canada. It strives to acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities, provide free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations in the collection, and facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection. The collection contains both microfiche and electronic theses and dissertations that are for personal or academic research purposes. Any commercial use, publication, reproduction or lending of this material is strictly prohibited.
http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/thesescanada/

Trove: National Library of Australia
Trove contains almost a million theses. Some of these are in print format only, others are available online in digital format. In order to assist with finding relevant theses, see their helpful tips here.
https://trove.nla.gov.au/

TesiOnline (Italy)
TesiOnline has published theses for over 15 years. Their site also offers helpful guides and tips for the planning, researching, and writing stages.
http://www.tesionline.com/intl/index.jsp

theses.fr
theses.fr aims to provide an entry point to all ongoing doctoral theses in France, all awarded theses in France, and individuals and institutions connected with these theses.
theses.fr

Deutsche National Bibliothek: DissOnline
DissOnline is a collaboration of over 120,000 online theses. The majority of this content is in German.
http://www.dnb.de/DE/Wir/Kooperation/dissonline/dissonline_node.html

Tesis doctorales: TESEO (Spain)
Spain's thesis and dissertation database.
https://www.educacion.gob.es/teseo/irGestionarConsulta.do;jsessionid=2DA8162C9E0FF872824BA69A64FB784A

Swedish University Dissertations: dissertations.se
dissertations.se allows you to search over 66,000 dissertations from Sweden, written in English, nearly half of which are available for download as PDFs.
http://www.dissertations.se/

DART-Europe
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
http://www.dart-europe.eu/basic-search.php

History Online
The Institute of Historical Research has been collecting information about history PhDs and research Masters since the 1930s. You can browse or search the directory of theses completed from 1970s onward, as well as current research in progress, here.
https://www.history.ac.uk/history-online/theses

PQDT Open
PQDT Open provides full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
https://pqdtopen.proquest.com/search.html

OATD.org
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 4 million theses and dissertations.
https://oatd.org/