Skip to main content

Physician Assistant LibGuide: Basic Resources

Resources for Physician Assistant students.

Welcome

Whether you're new to the Physician Assistant program, finishing up your Alverno coursework, or preparing for the PANCE - this guide will help you find resources available through the Alverno Library.

Logging in from off campus? Use your Alverno network username and password to access library resources from off campus.

Books

TOPCAT icon

Use the TOPCAT search box to find Alverno Library books. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium. Scroll through a sampling of books available at Alverno.

Ebook Central

Alverno also has an extensive collection of electronic books (ebooks) that students can access from any computer with an Internet connection. Use the search box below to begin your search.

Ebooks

 

Finding Journal Articles

Journal covers

To find articles on a topic:
Start by visiting Databases by Subject for Healthcare to find scholarly articles on a variety of health and biomedical topics. These databases are recommended:

  • PubMed MEDLINE
  • ScienceDirect
  • Cochrane Library
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text

To find an article when you have a citation:
Visit the library's home page and use the Google Scholar "Articles" search box to search the content of Alverno databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page. Not finding what you need? Use TOPCAT, Alverno's eJournal portal, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online...

So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Websites for Healthcare which features sites that are recommended by Alverno librarians.

Not finding what you need? Visit the Source Evaluation LibGuide for tips on determining the quality of information available on the open web.

TIP: Use Google's advance search feature to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Bate's Visual Guide to the Physical Examination Videos

Bates' physical exam

Alverno provides access to the 18 volumes of Bate's Visual Guide to the Physical Examination. Use your network username and password to view the videos online. Click to access volume 14: "Head to Toe Assessment (Adult)". Or, view the other Bates' videos online.

Tutorials and Videos

Not sure where to start?

Video clapper board image

Click here to access a collection of videos and tutorials.

Textbooks

Greyscale open book

The library has a collection of textbooks in the main reading room that are available for checkout.

Not finding your textbook in the library? Try an ebook search to see if there's a copy online.

Librarian

Dolores Skowronek's picture
Dolores Skowronek
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office FO 237
(414) 382-6184

Alverno Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414) 382-6062
-Library Home Page
-Library Staff Directory

Questions?

Ask a librarian icon

Need more help? Send us a question.

Date Updated

7/10/19