Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For your research project you need to find all the relevant books, articles, and essays on your topic. Here are a few tips to get started.
- Use several different keyword combinations and do several searches to be sure you've searched thoroughly. For example, if I wanted to research workplace discrimination I might try diversity in the workplace, sexual harassment, or pay equity.
- Try the advanced search mode. You can limit your search to only journals in your discipline or topic. This will help you weed out irrelevant results.
- Do not limit your search to full text. You can paste article titles into Google Scholar or request articles via interlibrary loan for free. (Interlibrary loan often takes a few days, and you get a PDF of your article. You can also request books via Interlibary Loan.)
If you would like one on one help or search tips, you can visit or called the library's Research Help Desk at (414) 382-6062, or Ask A Librarian.
Expand Your Search
For your bibliography you will need to do extensive research to find all the relevant books, articles, and essays that are required. In order to do that, you will need to search several different databases. Use the information and keywords you found in the databases at the top of the page to continue your search using the links below.
**Use the advanced search mode to limit your search to topics and journals in your discipline. This will help you weed out irrelevant articles.
Gale Virtual Reference
This is a collection of digital encyclopedias on a wide array of topics including business and communication. Articles can give you helpful background and history about your topic.
This library guide gives tips and links to find books and articles on all aspects of leadership.
Find links to all of the library's subscription education databases. You can search them to find articles on all aspects of education.
Find all of the library's subscription nursing databases. Try Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source and Sage Nursing & Public Health Collection to find articles on nursing and burnout.
JSTOR archives back copies of scholarly journals. Use the advanced search mode and scroll down below the search boxes to select Business or Communication studies for your search.
Science Direct: Advanced Search
Try the following search tips: Select the Journals tab to limit search results to journal articles.
Scroll down the topic menu below the search boxes to select Business, Management, and Accounting (to search only business journals).
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Full text for over 160 titles in the areas of communication and mass media studies. There will be searchable citations as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 285 journals. The database will also include monographs, conference proceedings, and working papers.
Use the links in this box to start your search for books and articles on your topic.
Business Source is the best place to look for articles and reports on all business topics, and Communication and Mass Media Complete is the best place to start a search for articles about media, the internet, and communication.
You can search TOPCAT to find books available in the Alverno College Library. You can also find books located in other local libraries. You can use the hold icon to request these for free. They will be delivered to Alverno in 1 or 2 days for you to pick up.
See the How Do I? menu for more tips to start searching, cite sources, and find full text articles.
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text articles from nearly 2300 Business, Economics, Management, Finance, Marketing, and Accounting journals.
Academic Search Premier
This database has scholarly articles on a wide variety of topics. You can find articles on all business and communication topics.
This database covers all psychology topics. Use this database if you need more information about leadership, consumer psychology, communication, and media.
This database covers all aspects of women's studies. You can search it for topics like women and business.
You can search google scholar to find more articles on business. Not all articles you find are freely available.
You can also search the library catalog to find print books available in the Alverno library.
You can search ebrary to find electronic books on your topic.
, Asian Studies
, Best Websites
, Dictionaries & Reference Tools
, Global Perspectives
, Open Access Resources
, Open Educational Resources
, Political Science
How Do I?
If you want to use library resources from off campus, you will need to log in. Use your network ID and password.
Find Full Text Articles
If an article you want isn't available in full text, you can use Google Scholar to search all of the library's databases to find a digital copy.
Request Books and Articles from Other Libraries
You can request a book or article for free using the interlibrary loan forms above. It can take 7-10 days to get an item, and the service is free.
Find Business Books
This guide links to the library catalog and electronic books. It also contains tips on how to search them.