Aurora Community Health Reports
Use this portal to access community health surveys that were conducted through a grant provided by Aurora Health Care and created in conjunction with 30 local Wisconsin health departments. These reports include data on behavioral and lifestyle habits and prevalence of risk factors and disease conditions existing within the adult population.
County Health Rankings
The County Health Rankings measure the health of nearly all counties in the nation, including those in Wisconsin, and rank them within states. The Rankings are compiled using county-level measures from a variety of national and state data sources.
Milwaukee Health Department: General Health Data and Publications
Provided by the city of Milwaukee, this portal provides access to local health data and reports. Some of the information is broken down by zip code.
Survey of the Health in Wisconsin (SHOW)
Provided by the University of Wisconsin - Madison, SHOW is a comprehensive ongoing annual health survey gathering data on health and a wide range of health determinants across the state of Wisconsin. Use this page to view trends and data charts on a variety of health indicators.
State Health Facts Online
Created by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, this site contains the latest state-level data on a wide variety of health indicators for the state of Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Health Statistics
Created by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, this website provides access to numerous statistical reports on a variety of topics related to health information and patient care.
Created by the Wisconsin Hospital Association, this site uses data collected by the State of Wisconsin to provide information on hospital charges and lengths of stay for common procedures. Users may compare data for individual hospitals to state and county averages. The site includes data for inpatient, outpatient, and emergency/urgent care services in Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS)
The YRBS is conducted as part of a national effort by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to monitor health-risk behaviors of the nation's high school students. The behaviors monitored by the Wisconsin YRBS include traffic safety; weapons and violence; suicide; tobacco use; alcohol and other drug use; sexual behavior; and diet, nutrition, and exercise.
Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this menu-driven system provides access to a wide array of public health data sets. It includes options for limiting searches by a variety of parameters and allows users to generate maps and charts to illustrate search results.
County Health Rankings
The County Health Rankings measure the health of nearly all counties in the nation and rank them within states. The Rankings are compiled using county-level measures from a variety of national and state data sources.
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)
Provided by the National Information Center on Health Services Research (NICHSR) at the National Library of Medicine, HSRR is a free searchable catalog of research datasets, instruments, and software relevant to health services research, behavioral and social sciences, and public health.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), HCUP provides access to national hospital care data and reports. This site include access to the free "HCUPnet" portal which provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties.
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. This website provides access to statistical data and reports and allows visitors to create free, customized data reports.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) website provides data from large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is a comprehensive source of information on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The NCHS is the nation’s principal health statistics agency. This site provides access to a rich collection of statistical information on vital events, health status, lifestyle, unhealthy influences, and more. The “FastStats” page provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)
PRAMS is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. PRAMS surveillance currently covers about 83% of all U.S. births.
State Health Facts Online
Created by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, this site contains the latest state-level data on demographics and the economy, health costs, health coverage and access, health reform, health status, minority health, and more.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. The SAMHSA site provides access to publications and data on the impact of substance abuse and mental illness in the United States.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program of the National Cancer Institute provides information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the cancer burden among the U.S. population.
WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System)
Provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, WISQARS is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
Provided by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and young adults. The YRBSS website provides data and documentation, sample questionnaires, access to reports, and other resources on the health-risk behaviors of the nation's youth.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The World Health Organization’s guide to international statistical and epidemiological information.
OECD Health Statistics
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Health Database offers a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. This tool enables users to carry out comparative analysis and draw lessons from international comparisons of diverse health systems.
World Bank Open Data
World Bank’s comprehensive collection of data pertaining to development in countries around the globe. This site provides access to data on a wide range of topics including education, health, poverty, and others. Users can access data by country, topic, or indicator.