Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources: APA 7

Provides access to Alverno's APA Moodle course and the course's resources.

Getting Started with APA7

APA logo 

Use this page to find resources for 7th edition APA citation style. The APA Style website and APA Style blog also provide a wealth of information for understanding how to cite using APA.

NoodleTools

Use NoodleTools to create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, use it in conjugation with the APA manual or the APA Style website.

NoodleTools icon

APA7 Videos

Video clapper

Click to view a collection of short videos

APA 7 Sample Papers

APA sample paper

Visit the APA Style site for examples

APA7 Sample Annotated Bibliography

APA Manual

APA7 manual

Need a copy of the APA Manual? The library has copies of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association and the Concise guide to APA style.

Excelsior OWL checklist

Excelsior OWL
Use this handy checklist to ensure that your papers are properly formatted.

Download the checklist for an interactive form with fillable fields.

Proofreading, Editing, and APA Help

CRC icon

The Communication Resource Center (CRC) is located in the Computer Center (RC109D) and provides writing, reading, and speaking assistance.

A 30-minute on-campus appointment can be scheduled during all CRC open hours. Visit the CRC website for current semester hours.

A 60-minute online appointment can be scheduled during evening CRC open hours. See Online CRC Evening Appointments for details.

What's new for APA 7th edition?

Reference list citation changes...

 The publisher location is no longer required in a reference list citation.

Surnames and initials for up to 20 authors should be provided in the reference list.

URLs are no longer preceded by “Retrieved from" for webpage citations.

Blue underlined hyperlinks are acceptable in a citation. So are plain text with no underline.

 Titles of webpage titles should be italicized and the parent website should be included in a webpage citation.

If available, issue numbers should be included in journal article reference list citations.

DOIs are formatted the same as URLs and begin with: https://doi.org/

If a journal article does not have a DOI, the reference is the same as the print version and ends after the page range.

 

In text citation changes...

For works with three or more authors, only include the first author’s name and “et al." beginning with the first in-text citation.

 

Formatting changes...

A variety of fonts are permitted and include Calibri 11, Arial 11, Lucida Sans Unicode 10, Times New Roman 12, and Georgia 11.

For professional papers - the running head on the title page no longer includes the words “Running head:”. It now contains only a page number and the (shortened) paper title.

For student papers - the running head is omitted (unless your instructor tells you otherwise).

Formatting of heading levels 3-5 are revised.

Quick Handouts and Guides

This page provides many short guides and checklists to help you understand the rules of APA citation style. View them online or download and save for future reference.

APA quick guides

APA7 Quick Guides

APA Moodle Course

Moodle logo

This course covers the basics of citing in APA and will help you become proficient at using NoodleTools to create accurate citations and reference lists.

Click to access the Alverno Citing in APA7 Moodle Course. New users can self-enroll after logging into Moodle.

In-text Citations

In text image

Visit the APA Style website for more information on the author-date citation system and citing in-text.

Need a handout?

Capitalization

Capitalization

The APA Style Capitalization webpage will help you understand the capitalization rules for APA7.

Group Author Abbreviations

Agency world cloud

Click here for APA guidelines on group author abbreviations

Questions?

Ask a librarian icon

Need more help? Send us a question: library@alverno.edu

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours, Staff Directory & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414) 382-6062
-Library Home Page

Date Updated

10/23/20 DS