Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Election 2020: Election 2020

Confused? Overwhelemed? Want to learn about voting, the elections and the candidates? This guide will help make sure you know where to vote, how to vote, and that your vote is an informed one.

Election 2020

Vote Image

 

Election Day is November 3rd!

 

Register to Vote

MyVote Wisconsin
Find your polling place, check your voting history, get set up for absentee/early voting, see what's on the ballot, and check the Countdown to Election Day clock! This is a fantastic resource for all your voting needs - whether you're a new voter or not. Check here if you are voting absentee.

City of Milwaukee Voting Information
Information on proof of residency, registration applications, and more. Check here for acceptable proof of residence documents.

I Will Vote
Make sure you’re registered to vote, then choose how you’re going to vote this year.

GODORT Voting & Elections Toolkit
Compiled by librarians, the site contains information on registration requirements, important dates and absentee voting for each state.

Vote.gov
The federal government's official voter registration portal with links to sate-by-state voter registration information.

Inicio MyVote Wisconsin
Información proporcionada por el Consejo de Rendición Pública de Cuentas del estado de Wisconsin.
¿Votación por correo?

 

Registrarse para votar
¿Estoy registrado para votar?  Buscar por nombre

 

Comisión de Elección de la Ciudad de Milwaukee
Los Hechos sobre Identificación del Elector e Inscripción Electoral

 

Vote.gov en Español
Registrarse para votar

Voting Absentee

MyVote - Wisconsin - Vote Absentee
For Wisconsin residents this is one-stop shopping for information on how to vote absentee including an online form for requesting an absentee ballot.

U.S. Vote Foundation - Register to Vote and Absentee Ballot
This site provides absentee ballot request and voter registration services for all U.s. voters in all states at home and abroad.

GODORT Voting & Elections Toolkit
Compiled by librarians, the site contains information on registration requirements, important dates and absentee voting for each state.

Voter ID

VoteRiders
VoteRiders is a national nonpartisan, nonprofit organization providing free information and help to voters to make sure they have the right kind of ID to vote in their state.

VoteRiders en Español
Apoyo para obtener una identificación

News Coverage

Learn more about "Grabbing a Pass" and accessing the New York Times.

Who's running?

Democrats

Republicans

Color photo of Joseph Biden

Joseph Biden


Democratic party logo

Official Website of the
Democratic Party

Donald Trump photo

Donald Trump


GOP logo

Official Website of the
Republican Party

Check the resources below for information about who else is on the ticket.

Other Resources

  • Ballotpedia (Wisconsin) - Ballotpedia is the online encyclopedia of American politics and elections. This page is an easy to navigate, easy to understand guide to the 2020 elections in Wisconsin.
  • Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP) - This university-based research, education, and public service center's mission is to promote a greater understanding and knowledge about women's participation in politics and government and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life.
  • Citizen Action of Wisconsin - Information on elections and hot button issues, action alerts, news, and organizing efforts.
  • City of Milwaukee Election Commission - Information about voting and elections in the cit of Milwaukee including information on early and absentee voting.
  • FactCheck.org - A nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in US politics.
  • Federal Election Commission (FEC) - An independent agency that regulates presidential elections.
  • GODORT Voting & Elections Toolkit - Compiled by librarians, the site contains information on registration requirements, important dates and absentee voting for each state.
  • League of Women Voters - A nonpartisan organization that encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.
  • National Homeless Coalition - A national network promoting voting access for low-income persons and persons experiencing homelessness.
  • Native Vote - A nonpartisan organization working to promote voter education, registration, and protection for Native communities.
  • Open Secrets - A nonpartisan, nonprofit research group that specializes in campaign finance.
  • Politifact - This site uses scorecards, factsheets, and articles to review claims made by candidates and attacks from opponents.
  • Project Vote Smart - This site includes biographical history, voting records, campaign finances, promises, performance evaluations, and other information for voters about elected officials and candidates.
  • Roll Call - Political news, blogs, and articles. 
  • U.S. Election Assistance Commission - Locate resources related to HAVA (Help America Vote Act) and guidance for voters with disabilities.
  • U.S. Vote Foundation - Get your voting and election information all in one place including links to state voting requirements, election dates and deadlines.
  • Vote411 - Sponsored by the League of Women Voters Education fund, this site provides information at a state level for absentee voting, election dates, registration, voting machines, eligibility, and more.
  • Wisconsin Democracy Campaign (WDC) - A nonpartisan political watchdog group working for clean government and real democracy. WDC tracks the money in state politics and elections and works for pro-democracy reforms.
  • Wisconsin Vote - Created by Wisconsin Public Television and Wisconsin Public Radio, this site educates voters on candidates.
  • Ya es hora ve y vota (Spanish language)

Find your current representative & voting location (by Milwaukee address):  https://itmdapps.milwaukee.gov/MyMilwaukeeHome/singleEmbed.jsp?page=justVoting.jsp