Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWITCH Libraries' Information Literacy Tutorial: Unit 5
Finding Articles

This tutorial is for use by the community of library users within the SWITCH Library Consortium.

The Value of Scholarly Journal Articles

Journal covers image

What is a scholarly journal article?  Also known as peer reviewed or refereed, scholarly articles are written by experts in a particular field. Before an article is published in a scholarly journal, it is reviewed by other experts (peers). This ensures that a scholarly journal is publishing high quality information.

Characteristics of scholarly journal articles include:

  • always identify the author(s) and typically list the educational institution the author is affiliated with, as well as his/her credentials.
  • always provides references.
  • are typically written by professors, scientists, or professionals in a field.
  • is frequently based on or relates to a research study.
  • typically include an abstract that summarizes an article’s content.
  • almost never appear in newspapers or popular magazines.

Why use scholarly journal articles? These are credible and authoritative sources of information. Using scholarly articles in your writing shows that you understand the value of good evidence and that you know how and where to find it.

Where do you find scholarly journal articles? In your library's databases. Not every article published in a database will be scholarly, but most databases allow you to refine a search and limit to peer reviewed or scholarly journal articles. 

Good academic writing will include information gathered from scholarly journals as well as other credible sources of information.

Popular and Scholarly Sources

Why Use a Database?

Why use a database image

Searching a Database

Searching a database image

Understanding a Database Record

Test Your Knowledge

Quiz image

Please review the information on this page before attempting the quiz. After completing the quiz, a score will be sent to your email address. Click here to take the Finding Articles Quiz.

Ask a librarian logo
Questions? Please contact your home library and ask to speak with a librarian.

Attribution

"Scholarly Journals" image by Thomasina Lovejoy

"Popular and Scholarly Sources", John M. Pfau Library: https://youtu.be/f-17MbjEws4

Video icon attribution: Rob-nowman used according to Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License

"Why Use a Database" and "Searching a Database" based on Cardinal Stritch University's "Introduction to Databases" tutorial: https://library.stritch.edu/Guides/Library-Resources/Using-Library-Resources/Introduction-to-Databases

"Database Record", Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System, UWM Libraries: https://guides.library.uwm.edu/infolit