LibGuides: MGT 300: Marketing Principles &amp; Management: Home

MGT 300: Marketing Principles & Management

Getting Started

Find More Industry Information
Use the Mergent Intellect database for a deeper dive into industry information.
Find Business Articles
These databases help you find information about a topic, a company, or an industry.
Interlibrary Loan
If you want an article that isn't available in full text or in the library catalog, you can request it via interlibrary loan for free.

In Wisconsin: Locate in Wisconsin
This tool from the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation allows you to search by city and industry code to find local competing businesses.

Find Industry Reports and Trends

Browse these links to industry websites and trade journals to learn about industry-related trends, consumer preferences, marketing, competition, and more.

American Floral Endowment
Browse the News and Reports links to find market research and trends.
https://endowment.org/

American Nurseryman
This is a trade journal that covers marketing and trends, new products, and laws related to professionals in the nursery business.
http://search.ebscohost.com.ac.ezproxy.switchinc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,cpid&custid=s6221949&db=buh&jid=ANY&site=ehost-live

Fashion United
This website is geared to fashion professionals. You can search it to find news, statistics, trends, marketing info and more.
https://fashionunited.info/

Women's Wear Daily
This trade journal gives information about news, trends, and marketing in the fashion industry.
http://search.ebscohost.com.ac.ezproxy.switchinc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType =cookie,ip,cpid &custid =s6221949&db=buh&jid=WWD&site=ehost-live

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from nearly 2300 Business, Economics, Management, Finance, Marketing, and Accounting journals.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company databases available, including 15 years of detailed financial statements. Learn to use Mergent at: https://www.alverno.edu/media/alvernocollege/library/pdfs/databasehelp/Mergent.pdf
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Access to both U.S. & international data for public, private, and global companies. Access to annual reports for U.S. & global companies. Includes executive biographies, competitor reports, fact sheets and much more.

Local Market Audience Analyst
An online consumer market research service built to provide sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer markets.

Census Bureau: Finding Demographic Data by Zip Code
Enter a city or zip code in the search box to begin finding demographic data by zip code.
Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition
This tool from the census bureau allows you to select a type of business and location. You can then get demographic and industry related information.
Nielsen: My Best Segments
NOTE: Please use the Chrome browser to access this page.

Please sign in using your Alverno network ID and password and then click Claritas 360 in the right corner in the second menu bar from the top. Then click the Log in to Claritas 360 purple login button. Note: downloading PDFs from the Segment Details section is currently unavailable.

Enter the zip code to get demographic information including income, technology, education, and lifestyle.
University of Michigan: Surveys of Consumers
Get reports and graphs about consumer confidence and finances.
Economy at a Glance: Milwaukee
This page gives a short economic overview of the area using statistical economic data from the Census Bureau and Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Gallup News: Customer Engagement
Browse this website to find news and reports based on Gallup surveys that give information about customers. Click the Business link at the top to find additional reports and statistics.
Marketing Sherpa
Marketing Sherpa is a research firm that publishes news and reports on marketing.
Metropolitan Milwaukee Business Directory
You can search this directory by keyword or browse it by category to find local competing businesses. Use the Regional Info link to find local demographic and economic reports.
Milwaukee Business Journal
Find information about local businesses and industries.