Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing LibGuide: Transcultural Nursing

Resources for nursing students.

Getting Started

The Alverno Library is a gateway to information on the health beliefs and practices for cultures and countries worldwide.

Looking for websites?
Best Websites: Healthcare > International Health

Best Websites: Healthcare > Transcultural Health

Use the tab located about this box for information specific to the N450 Culture Assessment.

Tips for Database Searching
1. Search with synonyms

  • For example, if you are investigating the health & illness beliefs of a culture, you could try searching with any of the following terms: sick role, health behavior, attitude to health...  Need more synonyms? Click here to access a worksheet for the N450 Culture Assessment.
     
  • Or, if you are investigating an ethnic culture and not finding enough information, try using the name of the country as a search term. For example, Puerto Rican is the culture, Puerto Rico is the country. Both are good search terms.


2. Look for the journal subset

  • CINAHL is a database for nurses and nursing students that provides access to articles published in the nursing journals... but, not every article in CINAHL is from a nursing journal. So how do you tell if an article is from a nursing journal? By clicking the link to an article and scrolling down to the journal subset section. Look for Core Nursing and Nursing - these are articles from nursing journals. CINAHL is available on the library's Databases by Subject for Health Care page.
     

3. Search multiple databases

  • Use the CINAHL database to search multiple EBSCOhost databases at once. This is a great way to "cast a wide net" and is especially useful for finding information on obscure topics. This handout explains how to search multiple databases using CINAHL. Consider adding MEDLINE and PsycINFO for best results.

 

Tips for Annotated Bibliographies
1.  Use NoodleTools

  • NoodleTools is a citation tool that helps students create annotated bibliographies. While it's not perfect.... it is pretty good and will make formatting an accurate bibliography fairly quick and easy. Click here to access NoodleTools, new users will need to set up a personal ID.


2. APA Manual

  • Fortunately, the 7th edition of the APA manual provides guidance for formatting an annotated bibliography and includes a sample paper. Please see pages 307 and 308 of the manual for more information. Don't have an APA manual? You can borrow one from the library.


Need an example? Try this sample annotated bibliography (7th edition).

Annotated bibliography APA7

N450 Search Term Worksheet

APA7 Sample Annotated Bibliography

Comprehensive Searching

Scholarly vs Not Scholarly

Nursing Librarian

Dolores Skowronek's picture
Dolores Skowronek
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office FO 237
(414) 382-6184

Questions?

Ask a librarian icon

Need more help? Send us a question: library@alverno.edu

Books

Ebooks

Alverno Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours, Staff Directory & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414) 382-6062
-Library Home Page

Date Updated

12/11/20