Skip to main content

Open Access Resources: Home

This guide contains links to various open access websites.

Open Access Resources

Open access refers to books, images, data, video, and other information that is freely available for viewing or use. 

Open Educational Resources (OERs) such as textbooks are often described by the five "R's", giving users the rights to Retain, Reuse, Revise, Remix, and Redistribute content.

This guide contains links and information to help you find open access materials.  It also contains links to various organizations that advocate or study the impact of open access resources.

If you have questions about open access resources or would like assistance finding and using them, you can contact a librarian.  See the Alverno Library Information box for details.

Other Open Access Materials

This box contains links to open access journals on a wide array of topics.  It also contains links to some notable open access historical digital collections.  You can search these to find manuscripts, images, interviews, maps, and more.

Open Access Books

Browse the links below to find books and various textbooks on a wide array of topics.  Some of the available textbooks are licensed to be freely edited or updated for use in classes.

Free ebooks & audio books

Project Gutenburg Wisconsin's Digital Library

Milwaukee Public Library

Google Books Library of Congress ebooks

Hathi Trust Database of Open Access Books

Alverno Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.

Open Access Organizations

This box contains links to various organizations that advocate for the use of open access resources.