Skip to main content

Psychology: Psychological Assessment

Psychology Resources

Introduction

This guide provides resources for finding reviews about and locating psychological tests and measures. Finding test reviews is often easier than finding the instruments themselves. Published tests often have to be purchased from the publisher. Unpublished tests may appear in journal articles which can be located by searching library databases.

Remember: all Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access our resources from off campus.
Click here for more information.

Citing in APA

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

Some Useful Web Sites

AmoebaWeb Psychology on the Web--Online Tests
Maintained by Douglas Degelman of Vanguard University of Southern California, this section of his larger site includes links to more than forty online tests.

APA Testing and Assessment
APA's Testing Office offers an FAQ about psychological tests, a testing information clearinghouse with links to several full text and sale items, and a list of links to other testing sites.

Buros Institute of Mental Measurement--Instructional Resources
From the publishers of the Mental Measurements Yearbook, this site provides information about tests, test publishers, test reviews, and instructions on how to use sources from Buros such as Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print.

ETS TestLink
The Educational Testing Service provides the world's largest test collection database with more than 25,000 measurements or tests. The flexible database provides publisher, abstract and availability information.

King University Libraries - Psychological Surveys LibGuide
A useful list of available established psychological surveys. Included are links to Subjective Happiness Scale, Loneliness Scale, Perceived Stress Scale, Resistance to Change Scale, Self-Esteem Scale, and Attitude Toward Violence Scale among others.

Psych Central – Psychological Tests & Quizzes
Although Psych Central is a commercial site, it provides much useful information on Psychology including these tests and quizzes. Freely available, these tests and measures focus on disorders and symptoms, relationships and sexuality, personality, and more. 

Psychology—Finding Tests on the Web
From Johns Hopkins University this is part of a guide to locating information on psychology including psychological tests and measurements. It offers links to four useful sites.

Self Report Measures Available from University of Miami
Self-report scales made available for use in research and teaching applications. Provided by Professor Charles S. Carver, University of Miami.

 

Books

To find books about psychological assessment located at the Alverno Library, visit the
library home page and use the TOPCAT search box. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium.

The following search terms may be useful for finding books on test and measurement tools:

Educational tests and measurements

Intelligence tests

Mental measures

Psychological Assessment

Psychological tests

Psychological tests for children

Psychometrics

Quality of life - evaluation

Quality of life - measurement

Social surveys

Tests in print

These are books on psychological assessment or test and measurement tools.They may include the instruments themselves or how to find them.

Loading

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (online)

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print - (Ebsco);  This database provides reviews of more than 4,000 commercially available tests in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling and management. Descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author and publisher of the tests are also provided.

You can search for tests by:

Name (e.g. Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory)
Acronym (e.g. MMPI)
Author (e.g. James N. Butcher)
Publisher (e.g. University of Minnesota)

If you do not know the name or details of a test, you can also search by keyword e.g. personality inventory.

Based on the print tool Mental Measurements Yearbook  published by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements (which we have in the library's reference collection from 1938-2010), included online is the contents of the first edition from 1938 through the latest yearbook. Also included in the database online are the contents of another print source, Tests in Print; our print collection includes editions from 1983 - 2011. Both print sources are included in the book list above.

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles about research studies frequently discuss the instruments used in the study. Occasionally they may even include the instrument itself or information on how to locate the instrument.  Search these indexes to retrieve information about tests and measures:

PsycINFO 
PsycINFO is a database of psychology literature which includes journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters and books. It contains the search field “Tests and Measures” and classification code "Tests and Testing".

PsycARTICLES
 PsycARTICLES is another useful database. It is a subset of PsycINFO containing full text scholarly articles from American, British, Canadian and Australian sources on many, but not all psychology topics.

ERIC
ERIC covers the journal and research literature in education including educational psychology. Instruments mentioned in these articles will frequently be noted by title in the article abstract. There is also a "Publication Type" field that can be used to limit your search to, "Tests/Questionnaires."

Library Liaison

Sara Shutkin's picture
Sara Shutkin
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office: CO B8
Phone: 414-382-6202
Social:Twitter Page

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.