Skip to main content

Psychology: Psychology Resources

Psychology Resources

Getting Started

Whether you're starting your psychology classes or finishing up your capstone project, this guide will help you find resources available through the Alverno library.

Logging in from off campus? All Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access our resources from off campus. Click here for more information.

Citing in APA

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

More Citation Tools

Sample APA Papers

Fully formatted APA paper thumbnail

Looking for a sample APA paper? Purdue's OWL provides a fully formatted APA paper.

 

Formatting an annotated bibliography.

 

Formatting a running head thumbnail

Formatting a running head.

Assignment Calculator

 
This time management tool will help you get assignments done on time.

Finding Books

TOPCAT online catalog link

To find books located at the Alverno Library, visit the library home page and use the TOPCAT search box. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium. Questions? Please contact a librarian for assistance.

To find ebooks available through the library, use the eBooks search box located on the
library home page or click here to begin your search.

Looking for new books or electronic books? Click the tabs located above this box.

Loading

Finding Journal Articles

To find articles on a topic: Visit the library's Databases by Subject page and select Psychology.
Search for articles in any of the selected databases.

Not sure where to begin? PsycINFO is highly recommended for finding scholarly articles on a wide variety of psychology topics. Information on using PsycINFO is available here and PsycINFO tutorials are available here and here

PsycARTICLES is another useful database. It is a subset of PsycINFO containing full text scholarly articles from American, British, Canadian and Australian sources on many, but not all psychology topics.
 

To find an article when you have a citation: Visit the library's home page and select the Google Scholar link to search the content of Alverno Library's databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page. Not finding what you need? Use TOPCAT, Alverno's e-Journal portal, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online. So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Websites for Psychology. These quality websites have been vetted by Alverno librarians and are a great place to find free information online.

Not finding what you need? Try using these criteria (courtesy of Kent State University) to evaluate the quality of websites that you find on your own.

Another tip is to use Google's Advanced Search feature which allows you to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Library Liaison

Sara Shutkin's picture
Sara Shutkin
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office: CO B8
Phone: 414-382-6202
Social:Twitter Page

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian icon

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.