Skip to main content

Best Websites: Peace Studies

Peace Studies in the Disciplines

International Institute for Peace Through Tourism (IIPT)
"The International Institute for Peace through Tourism (IIPT) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to fostering and facilitating tourism initiatives which contribute to international understanding and cooperation, an improved quality of environment, the preservation of heritage, and through these initiatives, help to bring about a peaceful and sustainable world. It is founded on a vision of the world’s largest industry, travel and tourism – becoming the world’s first global peace industry; and the belief that every traveler is potentially an 'Ambassador for Peace.'"
http://www.iipt.org/index.html

 

Last Updated 7/29/2017

INCORE (International Conflict Research Institute) Guide to Internet Sources on Mass Media and Conflict
Each guide produced by INCORE lists sources which have unique, relevant and preferably substantive content relating to ethnicity and/or conflict in the country/region concerned.
http://www.incore.ulst.ac.uk/services/cds/themes/media.html

Institute for War and Peace Reporting
The Institute for War & Peace Reporting strengthens local journalism in areas of conflict. By training reporters, facilitating dialogue and providing reliable information, it supports peace, democracy and development in societies undergoing crisis and change. IWPR is led by senior journalists and peace researchers, with staff drawn from established media such as the BBC, The Guardian and Reuters.
http://www.iwpr.net

 

Last Updated 7/29/2017

The Aids Memorial Quilt (The Names Project)
The AIDS Memorial Quilt offers a unique opportunity to educate people about HIV/AIDS and infection prevention, to remember those who have died, and to comfort the grieving and help them heal. It shows the humanity behind the statistics.
http://www.aidsquilt.org/

Americans for the Arts: National Arts Administration and Policy Publications Database
The National Arts Administration and Policy Publications Database is a comprehensive research/resource tool containing approximately 7,000 items (published since 1960) documenting information on the arts and culture in the United States. It includes topics such as: Community Development and the Arts, Cultural Policy, Arts Advocacy, Arts Participation, Public Art, etc.
http://www.americansforthearts.org/by-program/reports-and-data/legislation-policy/national-arts-administration-and-policy-publications-database-naappd

Animating Democracy
A program of Americans for the Arts Institute for Community Development and the Arts, Animating Democracy fosters arts and cultural activity that encourages and enhances civic engagement and dialogue.
http://animatingdemocracy.org/

Anti-War.US
ANTI-WAR.US is dedicated to the free distribution of anti-war graphic material.
http://www.anti-war.us/mission/index.php

The Artists Network of Refuse and Resist!
This artists' group (part of the Refuse and Resist! political organization) is dedicated to building "a culture and community of resistance" through artistic expression. The site includes events calendars, news, portions of exhibits, and a roster of participating artists.
http://beautifultrouble.org/practitioner/artist-network-of-refuse-and-resist/

Artists Without Borders
Artists Without Borders/Artistas Sin Fronteras brings psychological relief to victims of war in the form of art and/or entertainment. Art is no less important than food and water.
http://www5a.biglobe.ne.jp/~artWB/e04.html

Community Arts Network (CAN)
CAN’s Web site was an international resource focusing on the work of artists and their community partners – projects and programs that actively promote the arts as part of education, political life, health recovery, prisoner rehabilitation, environmental protection, community regeneration, electronic communication, and more. Community Art is broadly defined by CAN to include art for social change (activist art that intends to cure social ills) or public art (art installed outdoors that intersects with daily community life) or public arts policy (from arts funding to political involvement). The site was extensive including information across several arts disciplines, various populations (e.g. youth, the elderly, etc.), and social contexts (such as activism, corrections, environment, etc.). It is now an archive.
http://apionline.org/community-arts-network/

Culture Shock
Begun in connection with the PBS TV series Culture Shock which tells the stories of cultural controversy in now-classic works of art, in wagi literature, painting, film, and music, and explores the relevance of these masterpieces today. The site expands upon these ideas providing thought-provoking exercises and guides and resources for teachers.
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/cultureshock/index_1.html

Global Art Project for Peace
The mission of the Global Art Project (GAP) is to spread world peace by promoting tolerance and non-violence through art.
http://www.global-art.org/index.html

Images Against War
This site contains the images and statements of 559 artists.
http://www.imagesagainstwar.com/

Precious Lives
Precious Lives, created by 371 Productions, is a two-year, 100-part radio series broadcast on WUWM about young people and gun violence in Milwaukee.
http://preciouslivesproject.org/

September 11 Digital Archive
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of the September 11, 2001 attacks in New York, Virginia, and Pennsylvania and the public responses to them. Included on this site are links to stories, still images, moving images, audio, documents and related web sites.
http://911digitalarchive.org/

September 11 Web Archive
This site documents and provides links to the Web community response (including virtual art, news accounts, memorials, etc.) to September 11, 2001.
http://september11.archive.org/index.html

Social Change: Fostering Civic Engagement and Social Impact Through the Arts
Social change is both the process and effect of efforts to positively alter societal conditions. It encompasses a range of outcomes—healing, increased awareness, attitudinal change, more diverse and increased civic participation, movement building, and policy change to name just a few.
http://www.americansforthearts.org/by-topic/social-change

UNESCO Culture Sector: Protecting Our Heritage and Fostering Creativity
Safeguarding the cultural heritage is one of UNESCO’s chief tasks. Their mission is also to mainstream cultural diversity into policy agendas at national and international levels, protect the world’s cultural diversity through cultural and natural heritage preservation, encourage arts and crafts for sustainable development, and encourage the use of arts and crafts to eradicate poverty. The site is rich in information and links.
http://en.unesco.org/themes/protecting-our-heritage-and-fostering-creativity

UNESCO World Heritage
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has created this site to support its mission to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity.
http://whc.unesco.org/en/home/

 

Last Updated 7/29/2017

Conscientious Objection in America: Primary Sources for Research
This web site was conceived in May 2002 by Anne M. Yoder as a response to the many requests received at the Swarthmore College Peace Collection for information about conscientious objection. The Peace Collection has a very large amount of material by and about COs in the United States, but even so, there are many other institutions with primary sources that could be helpful to scholars and other researchers. The goal for the site has been to provide information and as many links as possible to archival sources in particular, as well as lists of other resources available and background information about conscientious objection in America.
http://www.swarthmore.edu/Library/peace/conscientiousobjection/co%20website/pages/PrimaryResourcesNew.htm

Ethics, War and Peace
This site is a gateway to the Carnegie Council on Ethics and International Affairs work on the ethical challenges of war and peace.
http://www.carnegiecouncil.org/themes/ethics/index.html

H-Peace
H-Peace is an international electronic network affiliated with the Peace History Society that seeks to broaden understanding about historical and contemporary peace, justice, and disarmament concerns.
https://networks.h-net.org/h-peace

Peace History Resources (Online)
Hosted by the Swarthmore College Peace Collection, this page lists links to web sites about the history of peace organizations and peace advocates.
http://www.swarthmore.edu/Library/peace/peacewebsite/scpcWebsite/Documents/ResourcesPeaceHistory.htm

Peace History Society
The Peace History Society was founded in 1964 to encourage, and coordinate national and international scholarly work to explore and articulate the conditions and causes of peace and war, and to communicate the findings of scholarly work to the public.
http://peacehistorysociety.org

 

Last Updated 7/29/2017

 

Pugwash: Conferences on Science and World Affairs
Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs, recipient of the 1995 Nobel Peace Prize, is an international scientific organization dedicated to reducing the danger of armed conflict and seeking cooperative solutions for global problems.
http://www.pugwash.org/

Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS)
Founded in 1969 by faculty members and students at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology who were concerned about the misuse of science and technology in society, the UCS is a nonprofit partnership of scientists and citizens combining rigorous scientific analysis, innovative policy development and effective citizen advocacy to achieve practical environmental solutions.
http://www.ucsusa.org/

World Science Day for Peace and Development (WSDPD)
Established by UNESCO in 2001, the WSDPD is celebrated on 10 November each year. Its goals are to strengthen public awareness on the role of science for peaceful and sustainable societies, to promote national and international solidarity for a shared science between countries, to renew national and international commitment for the use of science for the benefit of societies, and to draw attention to the challenges faced by science and raise support for the scientific endeavor.
http://www.unesco.org/new/en/unesco/events/prizes-and-celebrations/celebrations/international-days/world-science-day-for-peace-and-development/

 

Last Updated 7/29/2017

American Red Cross
The Red Cross is committed to saving lives and easing suffering. It serves humanity and helps by providing relief to victims of disaster, both locally and globally.
http://www.redcross.org/mo2

Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières
Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) is an international independent medical humanitarian organization that delivers emergency aid to people affected by armed conflict, epidemics, natural and man-made disasters, and exclusion from health care in nearly 70 countries. It includes volunteer doctors, nurses, logisticians, water-and-sanitation experts, administrators, and other medical and non-medical professionals.
http://www.doctorswithoutborders.org/

International Committee of the Red Cross
The International Committee of the Red Cross is an independent, neutral organization ensuring humanitarian protection and assistance for victims of war and armed violence.
http://www.icrc.org/

International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Founded in 1919, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies is the world's largest humanitarian organization, providing assistance without discrimination as to nationality, race, religious beliefs, class or political opinions.
http://www.ifrc.org/

International Medical Corps (IMC)
International Medical Corps is a global humanitarian nonprofit organization dedicated to saving lives and relieving suffering through health care training, relief and development programs. It was established in 1984 by volunteer doctors and nurses as a private, voluntary, nonpolitical, nonsectarian organization with a mission to improve the quality of life through health interventions and related activities that build local capacity in areas worldwide where few organizations dare to serve.
http://www.internationalmedicalcorps.org/

Medical Bridges
Founded in the Summer of 1997, Medical Bridges, Inc. is a non-profit organization dedicated to procuring medical and surgical equipment for donation to qualified providers of charitable medical care in developing countries.
http://www.medicalbridges.org/

Medicine for Peace
Medicine for Peace is an organization of physicians and nurses caring for mothers and children who are victims of war. The roots of Medicine for Peace were planted during the El Salvadoran Civil War when a group of concerned American physicians supplied medicine to clinics in villages devastated by the war. Since that time, we have been steadfast in our mission - to provide medical care and humanitarian assistance to children who are victims of war.
http://www.medicineforpeace.org/

 

Last Updated 7/29/2017

OTRP (Office of Teaching Resources in Psychology) Teaching Resources: Diversity
This site offers links to three documents which include annotated bibliographies, recommended resources, and curriculum materials on the Psychology of Peace and Mass Violence. Many of these items are in PDF format.
http://teachpsych.org/Diversity/International-Resources

Peace Psychology Links (from the Social Psychology Network)
This page has links related to peace, nonviolence, terrorism, conflict resolution, and more.
http://www.socialpsychology.org/peace.htm

Psychologists for Social Responsibility [PsySR]
The mission of PsySR is to use psychological knowledge and skills to promote peace, social justice, human rights, and sustainability at the community, national and international levels.
http://www.psysr.org/

The Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict, and Violence (Peace Psychology Division of the American Psychological)Association
Established within the American Psychological Association (APA) in 1990, its purpose is to increase and apply psychological knowledge in the pursuit of peace. Peace here is defined broadly to include both the absence of war and the creation of positive social conditions which minimize destructive conflicts and promote human well-being.
http://www.peacepsych.org

 

Last Updated 7/29/2017

 

Loading