Skip to main content

Best Websites: Peace Studies

International Relations & Peace-making Links

CAIN [Conflict Archive on the Internet]: Northern Ireland Conflict, Politics & Society
This site contains information and source material on 'the Troubles' in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present. There is also information on politics in the region and Northern Ireland society.
http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/

International Crisis Group
Based in Brussels, the International Crisis Group (Crisis Group) is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization, with 120 staff members on five continents. The organization works to prevent and resolve deadly conflict by using field-based analysis and high-level advocacy working closely with governments and those who influence them, including the media. Their web site provides a wealth of information including reports and briefing papers documenting activities in close to 60 countries, conflict histories, and links to early warning resources and maps. Also, they publishCrisisWatch, a twelve-page monthly bulletin which provides succinct regular updates making it easy to follow developments in conflict situations. The site includes an archive of the bulletin going back to September 2003.
http://www.crisisgroup.org/

Peace and Security, United Nations
The Peace and Security web site presents documents and information about United Nations peacekeeping missions and peacekeeping policies. Included are: maps, descriptions, and detailed information about current and completed (fifty years plus) United Nations peacekeeping operations; a research guide to United Nations documents on peacekeeping; general information on landmines, electoral assistance, and disarmament; and separate sections on the Question of Palestine, United Nations Mission in East Timor, the United Nations in Kosovo, the Report of the Eminent Panel on Algeria, and UNSCOM and Iraq.
http://www.un.org/en/sections/what-we-do/maintain-international-peace-and-security/index.html

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources - Peace, Conflict Resolution, and International Security
A section of the WWW Virtual Library, it is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language resources for a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. Also included is this sub-section containing useful resources such as principal search engines, libraries, databases, networks, and directories about peace, conflict, and security.
http://www.internationalaffairsresources.com/peace.html

 

Last Updated 8/3/2017