LibGuides: Multicultural and Crosscultural Resources: Home

Multicultural and Crosscultural Resources

Getting Started

Interlibrary Loan
If you want an article that isn't available in full text or in the library catalog, you can request it via interlibrary loan for free.
Search Topcat
You can do a search of Topcat to find books and hard copy journals available in the Alverno College Library. You can also find items available in area libraries. Use the hold link to request these items.

Databases
Websites

Smithsonian Global Sound
Features more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, natural & man-made sounds from recordings of Smithsonian Folkways Records. The database includes American folk traditions, blues, bluegrass, old-time country, calypso, American Indian & world traditions, jazz, classical, children's recordings, biographies, drama & poetry.
more...less...
Technical requirements: http://search.alexanderstreet.com/help/#System%20Requirements

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text articles as well as journal citations from such areas as Social Science, Humanities, General Science, Education and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 160 titles in the areas of communication and mass media studies. There will be searchable citations as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 285 journals. The database will also include monographs, conference proceedings, and working papers. Learn to use C&MMC at: https://www.alverno.edu/media/alvernocollege/library/pdfs/databasehelp/CommunicationMassMedia.pdf
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over 400 journals from several collections covering African/Asian/Latin American/Middle Eastern & Slavic studies, anthropology, archeology, architecture, art, business, classics, ecology & botany, economics & finance, education, general science, history, language & literature, law, math, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, public policy & administration, sociology, statistics, and more. The time frame is from the first volume published to 3-5 years ago. Learn to use JSTOR at: https://www.alverno.edu/media/alvernocollege/library/pdfs/databasehelp/JSTOR.pdf
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newsppaers in the United States and other countries. Contains at least 150 Wisconsin titles.

Managementhelp.org: Diversity and Inclusion
This page gives an overview and links about diversity in the workplace.
Urban Institute: Race and Ethnicity
The Urban Institute is a research organization dedicated to researching social and economic issues. Browse this page to find reports about race and ethnicity in the United States.
Community Facts: Race and Hispanic Origin
Find demographic and statistic information related to race from the Census Bureau.
Code switch: Frontiers of Race, Culture and Ethnicity
This NPR blog gives news and perspectives on all sorts of issues related to race and ethnicity.
African-American Mosaic
This online exhibit from the Library of Congress gives information and digitized artifacts related to African-American history and culture.
Blackfacts
Get a list of people and events from African-American history.
Asia Society
Get information about Asian culture, history, and news.
Indian Country Today
Get news and updates on Native culture, politics, health, sports, and more.
Latino Americans
This documentary from PBS gives history and perspectives on Latino culture and experience.
PewResearchCenter: Religion and Public Life
Get reports, statistics, and opinion about religion and religious groups.

You can find the books below in the Alverno College Library using the call numbers listed below each. Ask at the library Information Desk for assistance finding these books. *Note: Some of these books are reference and can't leave the library. One is in electronic format and can be downloaded.

Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora by Carole Boyce Davies (Editor)
Call Number: 305.896 E56
Voices of the U. S. Latino Experience by Guadalupe Compean (Editor); Rudolfo F. Acuña
Call Number: 973.0468 V889
When Half Is Whole by Stephen Murphy-Shigematsu
Who We Be by Jeff Chang
Call Number: 305.800973 C456
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
ISBN: 9780807000403
Publication Date: 2014-09-16

Multicultural and Crosscultural Resources

Alverno College Library Information

Multicultural and Crosscultural Resources

Getting Started