Skip to main content

Education LibGuide: MA Resources

Getting Started

This guide will help you successfully research, prepare, and submit your thesis. For help writing, reading, and speaking try the CRC .

Nursing students: Please visit the MSN Capstone LibGuides for more information.

Master's Action Research Report: Find examples in TOPCAT.

Research, Writing, and Methodology books

Click any book cover to go to that record in TOPCAT.

NOTE: We have many more research, writing, and methodology books available. These are just a few of the most recent. To find more, search TOPCAT or Ebook Central. Try searching terms like: methodology, literature review, qualitative research, quantitative research, etc.

Book cover: focus groups: a practical guide for applied research Book cover: storytelling with data Book cover: qualitative research from start to finish Book cover: applied meta-analysis for social science research Book cover: hypothesis testing and model selection in the social sciences Book cover: research literacy: a primer for understanding and using research Book cover: write like a pro 

Research Basics

Recommended Databases: Use the boxes on the right or check the Education section of the library's Databases by Subject page for more Education research databases.


Other Search Tools

Google Scholar - Search by article title and if we have full text, a link will appear on the right hand side.
WorldCat - Searches libraries around the world. Submit an InterLibrary Loan form to request materials found here.
Best Web Sites for Education - Selected sites that cover a variety of education-related topics.


E-Books

Ebook Central - Our main ebook provider and the most user-friendly. Keyword search within books, save titles to your virtual bookshelf, make annotations, and more. Additional (free) software required for downloading ebooks. Requires that you create a free login. Ebook Central is not our only ebook provider! For information on where else to find ebooks and links to relevant software & apps, try our E-Book LibGuide.

Sample APA Papers

Submitting your thesis

Alverno graduates have the option of having their final thesis uploaded to the library's online catalog TOPCAT. To submit your final capstone report to the library, please complete a Thesis Approval Form. You can choose between:

  • UNRESTRICTED access (recommended) - Submit this form if you want to release your work and make it available through the library website.
  • RESTRICTED access - Submit this form if you do not want to release your work and do not want to make it available through the library website.

These forms can be found at the links above or on the Faculty Resources page on the library website.

Basic Search Tools

TOPCAT

Login | Advanced | Course Reserves

Ebooks

Education Research Databases

For more Education research databases, check the Databases by Subject page.

Academic Search Premier
Education Research Complete
ERIC


Use the boxes above to search these databases now, or check the Education section of the library's Databases by Subject page for more Education research databases.

NoodleBib

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.