Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed to help you find information about retail, department stores, and business strategy. It contains databases, journals, books, and websites to help you find scholarly journal articles and company and industry information.
To get started finding news and articles, try the following keywords:
- retail industry
- department stores
- financial management
- work environment
- social responsibility
- decision making
Surveys of Consumers
Find recent information about consumer sentiment and inflation from the University of Michigan.
View graphs and statistics from the Census Bureau on various items including food services, wholesale, and construction.
National Retail Federation
Get news and trends related to the retail industry. Use the Advocacy link to get information about the economy, laws, and politics affecting the retail industry.
Finding Company Information
This library guide gives additional tips to help you research a company.
Chain Store Age: The Business of Retail
This website covers retail news and trends. Browse the menus at the top to find information about technology, marketing, supply, and more.
Business Insider: Retail
Browse this website to find news and trends related to retail. Click the Strategy link at the top to find additional information.
McKinsey & Company: Retail Insights
Browse this page to find articles about trends and news in retail. Use the search box to find other topics such as customer experience, agility, and growth.
You can search this database by NAICS code or keyword to get detailed industry reports.
Access to both U.S. & international data for public, private, and global companies. Access to annual reports for U.S. & global companies. Includes executive biographies, competitor reports, fact sheets and much more.
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text articles from nearly 2300 Business, Economics, Management, Finance, Marketing, and Accounting journals. Search it to find SWOT analyses and business news.
You can search google scholar to find more articles on retail, strategy, technology, finance, regulation, and more. Not all articles are available in full text.
Reccomended Journals and Books
Journal of Business Strategies
This journal covers business problems and issues, decision making, and management.
Journal of Economics & Management Strategy
This journal covers competitive strategy and organizational structure.
Business Strategy Review
Peer reviewed coverage of all aspects of business strategy, including profitability & performance, global & national markets, & industry standards. Aims to translate research findings, models, and ideas into forms that can readily be applied in business.
Women's Wear Daily
Covers business issues, fashion trends, retailing developments, international ready-to-wear, couture presentations & market overviews. For retailers & manufacturers of women's apparel, accessories, fibers & textiles.
Chain Store Age
News sources for corporate executives at headquarters in all the major segments of retailing: home centers, supermarkets, drug chains, specialty stores, discount, convenience & department stores.
International Journal of Electronic Commerce
This journal advances understanding and practice of electronic commerce. It covers information systems, computer science, economics, and sociology.
Advances in Consumer Research
This journal contains papers that are presented at the Annual Conference of the Association for Consumer Research.
, Asian Studies
, Best Websites
, Dictionaries & Reference Tools
, Global Perspectives
, Open Access Resources
, Open Educational Resources
, Political Science
How Do I?
If you want to use library resources from off campus use your Alverno network ID and password.
Find Business Journals and Articles
This library guide links to all the business databases the library subscribes to. You can also view search demonstrations.
Find Industry Information
This guide gives links and tips to help you research an industry.
Request Books and Articles from Other Libraries
You can request a book or article for free using the interlibrary loan forms above. It can take 7-10 days to get an item, and the service is free.