Skip to main content

Communication LibGuide: Home

Getting Started

This guide will help you find Communication resources available through the Alverno library. Need more information? Please call, email, or visit the library.

Logging in from off campus? All Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access our resources from off campus. Click here for more information.

Basic Search Tools

TOPCAT

Ebooks

 

 

 

Database Search Strategy Worksheet

Citing in APA

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

Sample APA Papers

Fully formatted APA paper thumbnail

Looking for a sample APA paper? Purdue's OWL provides a fully formatted APA paper.

 

Formatting an annotated bibliography thumbnail

Formatting an annotated bibliography.

**NEW Communication Materials!**

Use the tabs to find the newest library materials related to Communication or try your own search for items held at Alverno & other SWITCH libraries using the red TOPCAT search box found on the library's webpage.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

The titles below are journals and magazines that we hold in PRINT.  Do a journal title search in TOPCAT to find out more information about them. Print journals are kept on the 4th floor of the stacks in alphabetical order by journal title.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Ongoing Print Subscriptions
(Check the revolving rack in the library for the latest issues)

  • Critical Studies in Media Communication
  • Media Report to Women

Older Print Subscriptions
(print discontinued in favor of online access but we still hold back issues in stacks)

  • Communication Arts
  • Communication Quarterly
  • Communication Research
  • Etc.; A Review of General Semantics
  • Human Communication Research
  • International Journal of Listening
  • Journal of Communication
  • Journal of Mass Media Ethics
  • Journal of the International Listening Association
  • Journal of Visual Literacy
  • Journalism Quarterly
  • Listening Professional
  • Quarterly Journal of Speech
  • Vital Speeches of the Day
  • Written Communication

Finding Journal Articles

To find articles on a topic: Visit the library's Databases by Subject page and select Communication. Search for articles in any of the selected databases.
To find an article when you have a citation:  Visit the library's home page and select the Google Scholar link to search the content of Alverno Library's databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page. You could also try the the Citation Linker.
To find other, high quality information:  Check the Best Web Sites for Communication page and revisit this LibGuide. Information and resources are updated regularly!
Can't find what you need? Submit an Interlibrary Loan request or Ask a Librarian.

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian icon

Send us a question:  Library@alverno.edu

Library Liaisons

Sara Shutkin


Spot a problem with this LibGuide or have a research question? Let us know!