Skip to main content

GEC LibGuide: GEC 314

libguide for the GEC series of courses

Getting Started

Article Databases

These databases are good sources to find information about your topic:

Academic Search Premier

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Google Scholar

JSTOR

New York Times

 

Finding a Full-text Article When You Have a Citation

Visit the library's home page and select the Google Scholar link to search the content of Alverno Library's databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page. Not finding what you need? Use TOPCATAlverno's journal title search, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

 

Citing in APA

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, use it in conjugation with the APA manual or the APA Style website.

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

Need Assistance?

Ask a librarian icon

Need more help? Send us a question: library@alverno.edu

Finding Books

To find books located at the Alverno Library, visit the library home page and select the TOPCAT search box. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium.

To find e-books available through the library, use the Ebooks search box located on the library home page or click here to begin your search.

Looking for recent books or electronic books? Click the tabs located about this box.

Some useful Websites

NGO Information

Global Policy Forum: NGO's

NGO Cafe

Worldwide NGO Directory

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources - Nongovernmental Organizations

 

**Another easy way to find NGO's is to do an advanced Google search:
https://www.google.com/advanced_search
Use the a search term such as "water" and limit your search by the new domain name, ".ngo".

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online. So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Websites. These quality websites have been vetted by Alverno librarians and are a great place to find free information online.

Still unsure if the webpage is worth using for your assignment? Try using these strategies from the SWITCH Information Literacy Libguide.

Another tip is to use Google's Advanced Search feature which allows you to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions. There is also a new domain for non-governmental organizations, .ngo .

Alverno Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours, Staff Directory & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414) 382-6062
-Library Home Page