Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Community Psychology & School Psychology Masters LibGuide: Culturally Engaged Counseling

Getting Started

The Alverno Library is a gateway to information on the mental health beliefs and practices for cultures and countries worldwide.

The resources in this LibGuide are especially useful for completing MCP627 Culturally Engaged Counseling assignments.

Tip: Search with synonyms
For example, if you are investigating a cultural group AND family relationships you could try searching with any of the following terms: parent child relations, family relations, family attitudes, parenting,
family conflict...

Need more synonyms? Use the Database Search Strategy Worksheet for MCP 627.


Not sure where to start? Try these:

Google Scholar is an excellent tool for finding scholarly journal articles. Click here to access Google Scholar or use the link on the Alverno Library homepage to find articles available on the "free" web or in the library's subscription databases.
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the premier resource for global health information. The WHO website provides detailed information on many aspects of healthcare for countries worldwide. It includes information on health topics, data and statistics, and numerous publications on important healthcare issues.

PsycINFO provides access to citations, abstracts, and fulltext articles from the professional Psychology literature as well as from other related disciplines. It is found on the Alverno Library's Databases page via the A to Z List or Databases by subject under Psychology & Social Work.  Try searching multiple databases at once.
Click here to learn how.

eBooks

Books

APA 7 Sample Papers

APA sample paper

Visit the APA Style site for examples

Library Liaison

Need Help?

 

Send us a question:  library@alverno.edu

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location
-Send us an email
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062
-Library Home Page
-Library Staff Directory