Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Community Psychology & School Psychology Masters

Psychological Assessment


This guide provides resources for finding reviews about and locating psychological tests and measures. Finding test reviews is often easier than finding the instruments themselves. Published tests often have to be purchased from the publisher. Unpublished tests may appear in journal articles which can be located by searching library databases.

Remember: all Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use your Alverno Network Login to access our resources from off campus.


Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (Ebsco)

  • This database provides reviews of more than 4,000 commercially available tests in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling and management. Descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author and publisher of the tests are also provided.
  • You can search for tests by:
    • Name (e.g. Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory)
    • Acronym (e.g. MMPI)
    • Author (e.g. James N. Butcher)
    • Publisher (e.g. University of Minnesota)
    • If you do not know the name or details of a test, you can also search by keyword e.g. personality inventory.
  • Based on the print tool Mental Measurements Yearbook  published by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, included online is the contents of the first edition from 1938 through the latest yearbook. Also included in the database online are the contents of another print source, Tests in Print.

To find books about psychological assessment located at the Alverno Library, visit the
library webpage and use the TOPCAT search box or use the search box below. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium.

The following search terms may be useful for finding books on test and measurement tools:

Educational tests and measurements

Intelligence tests

Mental measures

Psychological Assessment

Psychological tests

Psychological tests for children

Psychometrics

Quality of life - evaluation

Quality of life - measurement

Social surveys

Tests in print

Library Catalog (TOPCAT)

These are books on psychological assessment or test and measurement tools.They may include the instruments themselves or how to find them.


Databases

Journal articles about research studies frequently discuss the instruments used in the study. Occasionally they may even include the instrument itself or information on how to locate the instrument.  Search these indexes to retrieve information about tests and measures:

PsycINFO 
PsycINFO is a database of psychology literature which includes journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters and books. It contains the search field “Tests and Measures” and classification code "Tests and Testing".

PsycARTICLES
 PsycARTICLES is another useful database. It is a subset of PsycINFO containing full text scholarly articles from American, British, Canadian and Australian sources on many, but not all psychology topics.

ERIC
ERIC covers the journal and research literature in education including educational psychology. Instruments mentioned in these articles will frequently be noted by title in the article abstract. There is also a "Publication Type" field that can be used to limit your search to, "Tests/Questionnaires."


Uesful Websites