Skip to Main Content

Community Psychology & School Psychology Masters

Getting Started

Whether you're just starting the Community Psychology or the School Psychology Programs or finishing up your final research project, this guide will help you find resources available through the Alverno library.

Remember: all Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use your Alverno Network Login to access our resources from off campus.

TOPCAT online catalog link

To find books located at the Alverno Library, visit the library webpage and use the TOPCAT search box found there or the one found below. TOPCAT can be used to find items that your instructor put on Reserve for your class or to find textbooks. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium.

To find ebooks available through the library, use the eBooks search box located on the library webpage or use the search box below.

Looking for recent books or electronic books? Click the tabs located above this box.

You can find many useful books, book chapters, and encyclopedia articles in electronic format by doing a search in the PsycBOOKS database. A link to it can be found on the library's Databases by Subject - Psychology & Social Work page. Here is a direct link to PsycBOOKS.

Try searching in this database for "Community Psychology." 

One item you will find while searching is the
APA handbook of community psychology: Methods for community research and action for diverse groups and issues

 

Finding Journal Articles

  • Not sure where to begin? PsycINFO is highly recommended for finding scholarly articles on a wide variety of psychology topics.
  • PsycARTICLES is another useful database. It is a subset of PsycINFO containing full text scholarly articles from American, British, Canadian and Australian sources on many, but not all psychology topics.
  • To find an article when you have a citation: Visit the library's webpage and select the Google Scholar link to search the contents of Alverno Library's databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page. Not finding what you need? Use TOPCAT, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online. So, how do you find the good stuff? 

Try using these criteria (courtesy of Kent State University) to evaluate the quality of websites that you find on your own.

Another tip is to use Google's Advanced Search feature which allows you to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Some Useful Websites

Citing in APA 7

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, use it in conjugation with the APA manual or the APA Style website.

Relevant & Related LibGuides