Skip to main content

Community Psychology & School Psychology Masters LibGuide: Community Psychology & School Psychology Resources

Getting Started

Whether you're just starting the Community Psychology or the School Psychology Programs or finishing up your final research project, this guide will help you find resources available through the Alverno library.

Remember: all Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use your Alverno Network Login to access our resources from off campus.

Citing in APA

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

More Citation Tools

APA Moodle Course

Moodle logo

Students can now self-enroll in the Alverno Library's APA Moodle course. Click here to access the course. Students will be able to enroll after logging into Moodle.

These handouts are useful when filling out the NoodleTools template:
Formatting a Book Citation
Formatting a Journal Article Citation
Formatting a Webpage Citation

Sample APA Papers

Fully formatted APA paper thumbnail

Looking for a sample APA paper? Purdue's OWL provides a fully formatted APA paper.

 

Formatting an annotated bibliography thumbnail

Formatting an annotated bibliography.

Videos

Videos Image

Click here to access  videos for psychology students.

Finding Books

TOPCAT online catalog link

To find books located at the Alverno Library, visit the library home page and use the TOPCAT search box. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium. Questions? Please contact a librarian for assistance.

To find ebooks available through the library, use the eBooks search box located on the
library home page or click here to begin your search.

Looking for new books or electronic books? Click the tabs located above this box.

You can find many useful books, book chapters, and encyclopedia articles in electronic format by doing a search in the PsycBOOKS database. A link to it can be found on the library's Databases by Subject - Psychology & Social Work page. Here is a direct link to PsycBOOKS.

Try searching in this database for "Community Psychology." 

One item you will find while searching is the
APA handbook of community psychology: Methods for community research and action for diverse groups and issues

 

Loading ...

Finding Journal Articles

To find articles on a topic: Visit the library's Databases by Subject page and select Psychology & Social Work or Education
Search for articles in any of the selected databases.

Not sure where to begin? PsycINFO is highly recommended for finding scholarly articles on a wide variety of psychology topics. Information on using PsycINFO is available here and PsycINFO tutorials are available here and here

PsycARTICLES is another useful database. It is a subset of PsycINFO containing full text scholarly articles from American, British, Canadian and Australian sources on many, but not all psychology topics.

Depending on your research topic, education databases such as ERIC and
Education Research Complete might also be useful.

To find an article when you have a citation: Visit the library's home page and use the Google Scholar link to search the content of Alverno Library's databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page. Not finding what you need? Use TOPCAT, Alverno's e-Journal portal, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online. So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Websites for Psychology. These quality websites have been vetted by Alverno librarians and are a great place to find free information online.

Not finding what you need? Try using these criteria (courtesy of Kent State University) to evaluate the quality of websites that you find on your own.

Another tip is to use Google's Advanced Search feature which allows you to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Some Useful Websites

National Association of School Psychologists
Premier organization for school psychologists

School Psychology - American Psychological Association
Overview about the profession from the American Psychological Association (APA)

Social Psychology Network: Community Psychology Links by Subtopic
Links related to community psychology, including community building, community health, action teaching, service learning, and more

Society for Community Research and Action (SCRA)
Division 27 or the Community Psychology Division of the American Psychological Association (APA)

 

Relevant & Related LibGuides

Citing Sources - Is APA driving you crazy? We can help. 

Ebooks LibGuide - Downloads, tutorials, and other helpful information on making the most of our ebooks.

Writing a Literature Review - Books, articles, and more on crafting an excellent lit review.

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian icon

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.

Library Liaison