Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reaching Out in New Ways: Highlights from the History of Alverno's Research Center on Women

Alverno's Research Center for Women and Girls (RCWG) and Ongoing Developments

 

Opened in 2009, the Alverno College Research Center for Women and Girls (RCWG) generates and applies research, develops curricula, prepares evaluation tools and conducts outreach for the purpose of supporting and inspiring initiatives to improve the lives of women and girls locally and nationally

Built on a half-century history of researching women, the RCWG provides the tools to reach out to young girls through action-oriented research, empowering women and girls at an earlier age.

Kate Masley was appointed its first Director in the fall of 2009.  The RCWG sponsored a weeklong event April 7-13, 2010 to celebrate the grand opening of its new physical space which is located in Clare Hall in what was previously the Clare Hall Chapel.

 

This is a flyer announcing the new center.

Alverno College announced the new Research Center for Women and Girls with this flyer.


The RCWG sponsored a weeklong event April 7-13, 2010 to celebrate the grand opening of its new physical space which is located in Clare Hall in what was previously the Clare Hall Chapel. Featured were an Opening Celebration and Reception; a workshop with Rachel Simmons, author of Odd Girl Out; and evening presentation by Sheryl WuDunn, author of Half the Sky; and an update session on the 2010 Status of Girls research.

This flyer describes the RCWG Grand Opening Events


Alverno's new weekday major and support in Women's and Gender Studies began in Fall 2010, shortly after the opening of the RCWG. Here is a flyer announcing the new program.

This is the front of a flyer describing the new Women's and Gender Studies major. Itis a beautiful, bright yellow.

 

The back of the flyer, below, included a broad overview of the new program and a listing of its inaugural faculty: Jodi Eastberg, Donna Engelmann, Sandra Graham, Nancy Lamers, Dara Larson, Amy Shapiro, Kimberly Skerven, and Patricia Walsh.

This is the back of the flyer which includes an overview of the new progran along with a listing of its inaugural faculty.

 

 

There was also an article in the May 2010 issue of Alverno Alpha (student newspaper) on page 1 announcing the new Women's and Gender Studies program.

There was also an article in the May 2010 issue of Alverno Alpha (student newspaper) on page 1 announcing the new Women's and Gender Studies program.

Below is a link to a printable PDF copy of the Alpha article about the new Women's and Gender Studies program.


In Fall 2011, Rhonda Matthews Ware was appointed as the second Executive Director of the Research Center for Women and Girls. An article about her appeared in the Spring 2012 issue of Alverno Magazine. She worked at Alverno until August 2015. Click here to learn more about Alverno's Research Center for Women and Girls.

This is a brief article about the RCWG's second director, Rhonda Matthews Ware, which appeared in the Spring 2012 issue of "Alverno Magazine."

Here is a link to a printable PDF copy of the article about Rhonda Ware from the Spring 2012 issue of Alverno Magazine.


color photo of Kris Vasquez

Kris Vasquez

 

In 2012, Kris Vasquez was the Research Director for the RCWG. During her time in the position some of the scholarly materials she helped produce are the following:

  • Bullying: A Prevention Toolkit
  • Bullying Prevention: Best Practices Documents
  • Generational Diversity: Characteristics and Values of Millennials in the U.S. and Wisconsin
  • Psychological Barriers to STEM Participation for Women Over the Course of Development
  • Teen Dating Violence: A Resource and Prevention Toolkit
  • Teen Dating Violence Prevention: Best Practices Documents

The Alverno College Research Center for Women and Girls has seen the need to conduct scholarly research related to the concerns of today’s women and girls, research that is accessible to decision makers in our community so that they have the tools to address these concerns. The Research Center team has produced and continues to produce research publications and school curricula that affect girls and women wherever they are found—in the home, in school, in the workplace, and in society at large. The intention is for this research to be used by educators, community organizations, businesses and government officials to raise awareness, identify solutions, change attitudes and practices, and develop public policy both locally and nationally. ​Here is a sampling of that research. Links to the full text of many of these publications can be found on the Research Center for Women and Girls website.


This is the front cover of the RCWG publication, "Advancing Girls in the Science Classroom"

Advancing Girls in the Science Classroom provides an overview of the changes that happen in girls' interest and performance in science throughout middle and high school. It provides recommendations for strategies to encourage girls in the sciences. These recommendations focus on building a clearer pathway for young women to pursue science as a career. ​


This is the front cover of the RCWG publication, "Adolescent Girls' College Aspirations"

Adolescent Girls’ College Aspirations: Precollege Expectations and Goal Setting of Adolescent Girls and Women​

This paper looks at key issues about the aspirations for college held by adolescent girls. It raises issues about potential and perceived barriers to girls’ aspirations, especially as girls seek to enter nontraditional fields such as STEM.​


This is the front cover of the RCWG publication, "Bullying: A Prevention Toolkit"

Bullying: A Prevention Toolkit​ (November 2011) answers common questions about bullying; outlines action-oriented tips for parents, educators, and community members; and provides resources for learning more about the topic. Our bullying prevention research has been shared with educators, community organizations, and representatives from the business community.​


This is the front cover of the RCWG publication, "Enhancing College Student Mental Health"

Enhancing College Students' Mental Health: Contributions from the Perspective of Community Psychology seeks to understand the current status of mental health in U.S. college and university students, and to use the lens of community psychology as a way of exploring viable interventions with the potential of enhancing students’ psychological well-being and, in turn, their overall success in college.​


This is the front cover of the RCWG publication, "Generational Diversity"

Generational Diversity: Characteristics and Values of Millennials in the U.S. and Wisconsin​

The generation known nationally as Millennials, born between 1982 and 2000, is the largest generation in American history. As with all generations, Millennials have been shaped by the events and social forces they experienced as they came of age. They share some attitudes and values with people of different ages; they also have some distinguishing features that mark them, as a group, as different from generations before. The purpose of this report is to look at Wisconsin data and national data about Millennials to provide insight into the general characteristics of this generation as it begins to become politically and economically active in our society.​


This is the front cover of the RCWG publication, "Teen Dating Violence"

Teen Dating Violence: A Resource and Prevention Toolkit (February 2013) is modeled after the highly successful Bullying: A Prevention Toolkit, which the Research Center published in November 2011. Following this model, the toolkit contains sections on frequently asked questions, current research findings, action items, and resources for parents, teachers, community members, and teens. Other topics include an examination of reporting issues related to teen dating violence, myths that may contribute to the acceptance of violence in dating relationships, and the impact of gender and culture on teen dating violence. ​


This is a color photo of Jill Desmond, Interim Director of the RCWG from 2015-2017.

Jill Desmond was the Interim Director of the
Research Center for Women and Girls
from 2015-2017.

 

This is the front cover image for the RCWG publication, Moving Wisconsin Forward, 2015: An Analysis of Wisconsin Women in Elected Office.

Moving Wisconsin Forward, 2015: An Analysis of Wisconsin Women in Elected Office, authored by the Wisconsin Women's Council and the Alverno College Research Center for Women and Girls, covers nearly 14,000 elected offices across Wisconsin state and local governments, including the state legislature and courts, as well as county, city, village, town, and school boards.​ The report found mixed progress. It is third in a series benchmarking women serving in elected office across Wisconsin.


This is the first page of the RCWG publication, "College-age Women and Relational Aggression: Prevalence and Impact"

College-age Women and Relational Aggression: Prevalence and Impact,  Katie S. Krueger, Meghanna Rao, Jeanna Salzer, and Jennifer C. Saucerman,  describes relational aggression as a type of aggression in which harm is caused through damage to one’s relationships or social status. The Research Center presents data from a study of college women on their experiences and perceptions of relational aggression, including the form that aggressive behaviors take in a college sample.


This is the first page of an RCWG study, "Psychological Barriers to STEM Participation for Women over the Course of Development."

In Psychological Barriers to STEM Participation for Women over the Course of Development  Jennifer Saucerman and Kris Vasquez describe how women continue to be underrepresented in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), which has implications not only for individual women and their families but also for the productivity of society. This literature review examines psychological factors over the course of development that contribute to the ongoing underrepresentation of women in these fields.


This is a color photo of Jodi Eastberg, Executive Director of the RCWG since 2017.

“At Alverno College, we are committed to improving the lives of women and girls in our community through liberal arts education. The Research Center for Women and Girls (RCWG) is a vital extension of our mission as it provides research by and for women in our community.” ​ -Jodi Eastberg

Jodi Eastberg, Ph.D., professor of history, was the Executive Director of  Alverno College’s Research Center for Women and Girls (RCWG)  from  2017 until 2021 at which time she was named dean of Professional and Graduate Studies. During her tenure as executive director of the RCWG, Eastberg oversaw the 2019 Alverno Report: The Status of Girls in Wisconsin, the most comprehensive consolidation of information about the issues facing girls in Wisconsin. She also organized the State of Wisconsin Girls Summits ​


This is a photo of the cover for the flyer promoting the first annual State of Wisconsin Girls Sunnit held at Alverno on March 23, 2019.

 

The  first State of Wisconsin Girls Summit was held at Alverno College on March 23, 2019. The summit, created for girls in 5th grade and older, featured a panel of girls discussing their experiences. The event held smaller break-out sessions ranging from identity formation, the power of words, forms of self-expression, healthy relationships, and how to nurture oneself physically, mentally and financially.​

 The featured keynote speaker for 2019 was 14-year-old Marley Dias. Dias is the founder of #1000blackgirlbooks and author of Marley Dias Gets it Done and so Can You! As a social activist and founder of the grassroots project to collect 1000 books featuring black females as lead characters, Marley Dias sought ways to provide empowered female role models of color through literature for girls and young women everywhere.​

 

This is a color photo of Marley Dias, keynote speaker at the first Wisconsin Girls Summit

Marley Dias, keynote speaker at the first Wisconsin Girls Summit

 

Presenters and participants in the Girls Summit could earn digital badges for leadership, discussion facilitation, advocacy and public works. This sheet describes those badges in more detail.

 

Presenters and participants in the Girls Summit could earn digital badges for leadership, discussion facilitation, advocacy and public works shared over various platforms. Digital badges were issued via Badgr.com upon completion and approval of the participant and presenter submissions.​

 

This is a color photo of a 2019 Girls Summit Badge

Above is the inaugural badge for the Wisconsin Girls Summit 2019. The badge measures 3.25” wide by 2.75” high. ​

This is the the front cover of the program for the first
annual Wisconsin Girls Summit.

This is the the front cover of the program for the first Wisconsin Girls Summit held on March 23, 2019.

Below is a link to a printable PDF copy of the entire program.


A second Wisconsin Girls Summit was scheduled for March 28, 2020. It was to have featured, Mari Copeny, Little Miss Flint, because of her activism around the water crisis in Flint, Michigan, as the keynote speaker.

This is a color photo of Mari Copeny, Little Miss Flint.

 

This was the proposed schedule for the 2020 Wisconsin Girls Summit.

Program for the proposed second Wisconsin Girls Summit which was to have been held on March 28, 2020.

 

As colleges and universities were responding to the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, the RCWG posted the following message on their Girls Summit homepage:​

"In order to ensure the health and safety of our community, the Research Center for Women and Girls in consultation with Alverno College leadership, has postponed the 2020 State of Wisconsin Girls Summit. This decision was not taken lightly as now, more than ever, we need to be focused on the physical and mental health of our young people in this uncertain time.​

We are currently working with our keynote speaker, Mari Copeny, to identify a date in the fall to reschedule this event.​

We will offer content via our social media channels to support girls in our community on March 28. Stay tuned."

As promised the RCWG offered a digital alternative to the second annual Wisconsin Girls Summit on March 28, 2020. In their Twitter feed post, the RCWG invited participants to join a live video conference. There were forty participants.​

 

RCWG Tweet from March 26, 2020 inviting attendance at the Digital Wisconsin Girls Summit.

 

Finally after the WI Girls Summit Webinar in March, the entire summit including keynote speaker Mari Copeny was rescheduled and held virtually on October 10, 2020.

 

This is a Tweet encouraging attendance at the virtual WI Girls Summit held on October 10, 2020 and featuring keynote speaker, Mari Copeny.

 

 

 

Color photo of Lindesy Harness Executive director of the RCWG starting August 1, 2021

Lindsey Harness, Ph.D., has been appointed director of the Alverno College Research Center for Women and Girls (RCWG) and will assume the role on August 1, 2021.  Harness, an associate professor of Communication and Technology, began teaching at Alverno in 2015 and most recently served as a co-director for the Women’s and Gender Studies program.

Her vision for the RCWG is "to continue the spirit and intention that undergirds the center's creation while expanding it to meet the needs evident today. The RCWG has a responsibility to be a voice that represents the binds many women and girls face as a result of the intersection of their identities, and it must participate in local, national and international conversations about what it means to be a marginalized human and what it means to be a human who has an equal opportunity for a life of authenticity, happiness and well-being."